Vegan MoFo2014 – Recipe: Baked Doughnuts with Lemon Glaze

At the last minute I decided to RSVP for a pot luck picnic being run on Sunday by one of the meetup groups I subscribe to. It’s not a vegan event so I was at a bit of a loss as to what to make. After a lot of useless thinking I decided to have a look through the recipes bookmarked on my computer and I came across a jam doughnut recipe. After a bit more thinking I decided that The recipe wasn’t the right one for me as they required deep frying (which I have only done once in my life and wouldn’t taste as good when cooled down and served the next day. So I did a bit of Googling and found this recipe

Ingredients:

2 Cups of Non Dairy Milk (I used soy).
1/3 Cup of Oil.
1/3 Cup of Agave or Maple Syrup (I used Brown Sugar).
1/2 Cup of Sugar.
1 7g Package of Dry Active Yeast.
4 1/2 Cups of Flour.
1 Teaspoon of Salt.

Method:

In a saucepan combine the Milk, Oil, Syrup and Sugar and bring to the boil. Turn of heat and leave to cool for 1/2 an hour.

IMG_1356.JPG

The boiled mixture

Add the Yeast to the liquid mixture and stir in. Leave to activate for 10 minutes.

Put 4 cups of the Flour and the Salt in a large mixing bowl and add the activated yeast mixture. Mix thoroughly.

IMG_1357.JPG

Before proving

Cover the mixture with a tea towel and leave to prove in a warm place for 1 hour.

Set the oven to 180 Celsius (350 Fahrenheit). After the mixture has proved, it should have doubled in size, add the remaining 1/2 cup of Flour.

IMG_1358.JPG

Cutting out

Roll out dough to about 1 Inch thick and cut into shape. Place the doughnuts and the holes on a tray covered with baking paper and bake for 10 minutes

Lemon Glaze

Ingredients:

1/3 Cup of Lemon Juice.
1 Cup of Icing (Powdered) Sugar.

Method:

Combine Lemon Juice and Icing Sugar thoroughly and leave to harden a little.

Remove the doughnuts and holes from the oven and dunk them into the glaze. Leave to cool on a rack with something underneath to catch drips.

Eat.

IMG_1359.JPG

Baked and glazed

Verdict: Unfortunately my dough didn’t rise properly (I think the wet mixture was still too hot when I added the Yeast). The end product was a bit doughy, edible, but not something I would serve to others. The glaze was delicious. Since I can’t take the doughnuts to the picnic I had to make something else.

Leave a Reply

