Restaurant: Red Lime Shack

Red Lime Shack is a vegan café in Port Adelaide. Set on a main street the café is large, airy and filled with art. The furniture was the usual assortment of random op shop finds and it looks lovely. Red Lime does breakfast (I’ve heard great things about their waffles) and lunch with an assortment of smoothies, burgers and the usual fare.

I ordered a BerryRipe smoothie and the Walnut, Sage and Carrot burger.

20140518-202832.jpg

BerryRipe smoothie

The smoothie was fabulous. Thick and creamy, it was just plain yummy. It had a perfect balance between the sweetness of the banana and the tartness and flavour of the berries. Too bad that perfect balance didn’t carry over to the burger…

20140518-202839.jpg

Walnut, Sage and Carrot burger

When the burger was delivered to my table I was excited. It looked delicious. I picked it up and felt the soft , warm bun and I took a bite… and was confronted with a sourness that permeated the entire burger. A combination of the mustard and the tahini mayonnaise (WAY too much lemon juice) had completely overwhelmed all the other flavours. The burger patty itself had a nice texture but lacked flavour, the salad was fresh and the bun was lovely. I was hungry so I ate it all but I was definitely not happy with it.

Food: Disappointing. However based on what I’ve heard from others I’m hoping I just got a bad batch of the mayo. Smoothie was awesome. 2.5/5

Setting: Quirky but nice. The size of the main room made the eclectic furniture work well. 4/5

Service: Polite, quiet. Basic but not uncomfortable. I didn’t even mind the loud conversation I overheard about the placement of items in the freezer. 3/5

Overall: Slightly disappointed however I will attempt to return to try the waffles. Good to see a wholly vegan restaurant outside of the CBD. 3/5

Red Lime Shack on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

