Recipe: Baked Kale Chips

So this week on the 52 Weeks of Vegan Cooking subreddit it’s the Obligatory Kale Challenge! Love the title 🙂

Kale is one of the superfoods, full of vitamins and minerals and all that stuff that’s good for you. Personally I only buy it occasionally when it’s cheap but I prefer spinach or silverbeet (chard). I know that the fact that kale doesn’t break down no matter how much you cook it is supposed to be a good thing, but I hate that. I think the texture is annoying.

My first though for a kale recipe was a smoothie because that would get rid of the texture issue. Then I remembered that my (housemates) blender isn’t that powerful and probably wouldn’t break down the kale properly. I wasn’t really sure what to do for this weeks challenge. I always try to do something I’ve never done before and I’ve already tried using kale in soups and stir fries. Then yesterday I found myself craving potato chips and I remembered that you can make kale chips.

I followed this basic recipe.

Ingredients:

1 Bunch of Kale. I didn’t use a whole bunch, just 6 stalks worth.
Olive Oil.
Flavored Salt. I used regular table salt.

Method:

Preheat oven to 175 Degrees Celsius/350 Degrees Fahrenheit.

Pick or cut off all the Kale leaves from the hard stem and tear/cut them into bite sized pieces.

20131028-165451.jpg

Kale in a bag

Put Kale pieces into plastic freezer bag and add salt and oil. Hold the bag closed and shake to coat evenly. Make sure you hold it closed properly of you’ll end up with oily Kale on the floor. *facepalm*

20131028-165459.jpg

Blurry kale – pre baking

Put coated Kale onto baking tray and place in oven. Bake for 10 – 15 minutes until the edges brown but are not burnt.

20131028-165508.jpg

Kale chips

Eat.

Verdict: Not bad. Certainly better than I was expecting. Not all of the pieces were crispy and some had globs of salt. I will make these again, possibly in salt and vinegar flavor next time.

Leave a Reply

