Recipe: Pizza!

I was craving some pizza but I had no money and then I realized something. I had all the ingredients to make my own!

The base was taken from this recipe.

Ingredients:

7g Sachet of Dry Yeast.
1 Teaspoon of Caster Sugar.
1/2 Teaspoon of Salt.
3/4 Cup of Warm Water.
2 Cups of Plain Flour.
2 Tablespoons of Olive Oil.

Method:

Put Salt, Sugar, Yeast and Water in a bowl and mix.

Cover with cling wrap and place in a warm area. i put it on the front of the top shelf of the oven on it’s lowest heat with the door open a little bit.

Wait 5 minutes or until mixture bubbles up.

20131026-143307.jpg

Bubbles!

Sift Flour into bowl and add the Olive Oil.

Add Yeast mixture and mix into dough.

Place on a lightly floured surface and knead for 10 minutes (3 songs on the radio).

Put back into mixing bowl and cover with cling wrap. Place in warm area and leave for 30 minutes until the dough doubles in size.

Turn oven onto 200 degrees Celsius/450 degrees Fahrenheit.

Knead dough for 1 minute then roll out into desired shape and place on tray.

Put sauce, toppings and vegan cheese on top of the dough.

My toppings:

I made my own sauce. I used:

1 Small Can of Tomato Paste.
1 Medium Tomato, diced small with seeds.
1/4 Teaspoon of Chilli powder.
2 Teaspoons of Capers, chopped up.
1/2 Teaspoon of Dried Basil.
1/2 Teaspoon of Dried Oregano.
1/4 Teaspoon of Stevia Granules.
1 Teaspoon of Minced Garlic.
1 Dash of Balsamic Vinegar.
Salt and Pepper to taste.

Put it all in a bowl and mix it up. You’ll only need about 1/3 of the mixture, but you can freeze the rest for next time.

My other toppings were:

1 Handfull of Spinach, chopped.
1 Small Onion, sliced.
3 Mushrooms, sliced.
Sheese Mozzarella Style.

20131026-143317.jpg

My toppings

20131026-143326.jpg

Ready for the oven

Bake for 10 – 15 minutes.

20131026-143335.jpg

Ready to eat

Verdict: the dough had good texture but the flavour was a bit lacking. If I were to make this dough again I would put in less sugar and more salt. The sauce was beautiful. The onion was a tad under cooked so next time I might blanch or pan fry it a little first. My Sheese had been open and in the freezer for a little while and it had dried out. I tried to rejuvenated it by microwaving it with a glass of water and this certainly helped, but the spread of the Sheese on the pizza was clumpy and didn’t cover the other ingredients properly. That said the Sheese tasted perfect. Salty and cheezy, so yummy.

Leave a comment