Recipe: Simple French Toast

This is my entry for week 2 of the Reddit 52 Weeks of Vegan Cooking challenge, This weeks challenge was breakfast.

For the challenge I decided to attempt to reinvent a family favorite: French Toast. Now vegan french toast has already been done but all the recipes I’ve read seem to have the same issue for me. Too over complicated. Sauces, sugar, compotes, millions of toppings. In our house french toast was eggs and a little milk, then topped with a pinch of salt once cooked. So I had a look around at various different recipes and then tried to invent my own.

Ingredients: 

1 cup of Soy Milk.
1/4 tsp of Garlic Powder.
2 tsp of Nutritional Yeast (also called Savory Yeast).
1 tsp of Egg Replacer (I use Ogran No Egg).
1/4 tsp of Mustard Powder.
2 tbsp of Chickpea flour.
Pinch of Salt and Pepper.

20131011-153331.jpg

Soaking the bread

Method:

Place all ingredients ingredients in a small pan and whisk until combined and thicken slightly. If over thickened add a little water to loosen.

Pour batter into mixing bowl and place a slice of bread in mixture to soak thoroughly.

Fry bread on both sides in oil or vegan butter (I used Nuttelex).

20131011-153338.jpg

Frying

Sprinkle with a little salt. Eat.

20131011-153347.jpg

The result

Verdict: The garlic powder was a mistake. You could smell it strongly and the taste was weird in the mix. I think my batter was still too thick and it burnt a little in the pan. If I made this again I would make the batter in a blender instead of in the pan. The final texture was weird and kind of doughy. Overall it wasn’t french toast as I remember it but it still tasted okay.

Leave a Reply

