Recipe: Avocado Mayonnaise

This is based on the recipe found here, but I made a few alterations.

Ingredients
1 small or medium Haas avocado, cut in half, pit removed, and flesh scooped out
1 tablespoon lemon juice (I used rice wine vinegar because I prefer the flavor. Also I didn’t have any lemon.)
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard (optional) (I used seeded mustard.)
1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon sea salt (adjust to taste)
2 tablespoons olive oil (I used half olive, half sunflower because I don’t like the strong olive flavor.)

Method

Place Avocado, lemon juice (vinegar), mustard and salt in blender or food processor.

Blend until smooth, drip in oil and blend until creamy.

20130924-154957.jpg

Freshly blended

Verdict: Tastes okay. However it could have been better and that’s my own fault. Firstly my avocado was not properly ripe which left a slight bitter taste. Due to both the avocado’s hardness and the type of blender I was using I struggled to get a proper blend and had to add water to my mix to get it to work properly. Also the wholegrain mustard didn’t really work, it didn’t blend down well and there were specks in the mayo, plus it may have contributed to the slightly harsh final taste. Overall I would make this recipe again, with a few changes.

20130924-155014.jpg

On my home-made Turkish bread

Leave a Reply

