Restaurant: Fair Espresso

So I was walking down James Place off Rundle Mall today looking for somewhere to have lunch and I spotted a sign. “Vegan Toastie $7.50.” Well okay then.

Fair Espresso started as a coffee cart for local events and recently has evolved into a small cafe in the Adelaide CBD. As the name suggests they serve fairtrade coffee. They also use organic produce wherever possible.

I ordered the vegan toastie and an iced long black for a total of $12! The server was very happy to tell me about the single origin coffee (yawn) but fortunately he didn’t go on about it too long.

20140414-142131.jpg

Iced Long Black

The coffee, which despite my dining in was served in a take away container, was actually quite nice. I’m not a huge fan of black coffee and was quite sour upon first sip but after I added some natvia it tasted okay.

20140414-142136.jpg

Vegan Toastie

The toastie was dark rye bread with caramelized onions, rocket and tomato. I love dark rye bread on toasties so I was thrilled when the dish came out. I was less thrilled when I discovered a little bit of melted cheese from some previous toastie stuck to the bread.

I was worried that the filling would be too sweet with out a salty element. It was sweet but not unbearably so. It was however rather peppery and not just from the rocket. Overall it was quite nice.

An alright meal at a good price but was spoiled by one thing. This:

20140414-142143.jpg

Dafuq!

This is painted on the wall near the back of the cafe, right where I was sitting. Other than being anatomically incorrect and downright creepy I feel that it rather calls into question the cafes vegan friendliness.

Food: Not bad but nothing spectacular. 2.5/5

Setting: Lots of wood and the usual fairtrade hipster decor. Would be quite nice if I wasn’t able to see a certain wall. 1/5

Service: Fine though the servers seemed unable to read the table numbers properly. 4/5

Overall: Between the cross contamination issues and the disturbing mutant cow painting this isn’t somewhere I would go again. 2/5

Fair Espresso on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

