Recipe: Cauliflower Bread

So I’ve decided to add to my cooking by taking on some more challenges via reddit. This weeks challenge on the 52 Weeks of Baking subreddit is bread. I’ve made a few breads in my time with some success and I was originally just going to attempt focaccia, which is something I’ve wanted to try for a while, but the something turned up in my facebook feed. A recipe for Cauliflower Bread from Coach Shannon Lee’s page. The recipe was attached to a request from a fellow vegan to veganize the recipe so I decided to try it out.

Ingredients:

1 Head of Cauliflower.
1/2 a Cup of Vegan Cheeze. I used Scheese Gouda Style.
1/4 of a Cup of Silken Tofu, drained and pressed. I used 1/2 a Cup but I think it was too much.
1 Teaspoon of Dried Parsley or Oregano or Basil. I used Oregano.
2 Cloves of Garlc, minced.
1 Tablespoon of Nutritional (Saboury) Yeast (optional).
Onion Powder, Salt and Pepper to taste.

Method:

Preheat the oven to 230C (450F).

Steam the Cauliflower florets and stems (not the core) until soft.

20140206-164114.jpg

The cauliflower – pre cooking

Combine the other ingredients in a bowl.

20140206-164119.jpg

The other ingredients

Press the cooked Cauliflower in a tea towel / cloth to remove as much water as possible.

Put Cauliflower in a food processor and process until it is a mashed potato consistency.

Combine Cauliflower with other ingredients, then place mixture evenly on a large greased tray.

20140206-164128.jpg

In the oven

Baked for 15 – 20 minutes until the top begins to brown. This too nearly 40 minutes for me as a) I think my mixture was too wet and b) I have no idea how the use the fancy convection oven in my new place.

20140206-164135.jpg

Out of the oven

Cut up and enjoy.

20140206-164141.jpg

On the plate

Verdict: Quite simple despite the fact that I don’t have a proper food processor and I have to steam the Cauliflower in the microwave. My mix was too wet so next time I will try and remove more water from the Cauliflower and add less tofu. I also over did it with the Pepper and the Onion Powder so my finished product has a very strong flavor. Other than that it’s a good recipe. I was concerned that the Cauliflower would make it too sweet but I was wrong. It tastes nice though I’m not sure this is actually a bread.

One thought on “Recipe: Cauliflower Bread

  1. mydearbakes says:

    That’s my kind of bake! Lovely! =)

Leave a Reply

